AISNSW ICT Strategic Directions Group

The Strategic Directions Group provides a forum for discussion and platform for solutions to medium and long-term ICT issues affecting the independent school community under four pillars:

Emerging Technologies

  • Research-based
  • Digital technologies for curriculum
  • Bringing lessons learnt to the whole sector

Enabling ICT Leadership

  • Developing the next 
    generation of ICT leaders
  • Events, mentoring and professional learning
  • ICT leadership resources

Risk, Security & Governance

  • Data security and retention
  • Risk management best practice
  • Guidance on external 
    or self-governance

Member Advantage

  • Procurement resources & policies
  • Agreements with key vendors
  • ICT Advisory Service


The purpose of the ICT Strategic Directions group is to:

  • propose, share and promote emerging technology use in independent schools
  • guide the sector in providing appropriate professional learning for the benefit of independent school ICT staff and leaders
  • support the sector in ICT risk management, data security and governance by providing appropriate resources and guidance
  • engage with the vendor community to provide appropriate technology solutions to the independent sector.


Strategic Directions Group membership is voluntary and determined by a ‘call for volunteers’ process administered by AISNSW.

The Group will consist of a Chair, 10-20 school representatives depending on response to the volunteer email process, the current chair of the AISNSW ICT Management & Leadership Conference, and AISNSW staff including the Head: Technology & Online Learning Solutions.

The group will endeavour to represent all school sizes, locations, beliefs and gender. School representatives will participate for two school years, with half rolling off yearly through a volunteer process conducted in Term 4.

Examples of recent Strategic Directions Group activites:

  • Sector-wide licensing agreement for Microsoft and Adobe software
  • Presentation by the Office of the eSafety Commissioner 
  • Feedback to the ICT Leadership and Management Conference Committee
  • Feedback in relation to ICT events, e.g. Helpdesk and the Customer Experience
  • Oversight of the Current and Emerging ICT Leaders program
  • Providing AISNSW with feedback on the Member Advantage program and the offers the committee would like to see provided to the sector
  • Selection of the licensing reseller to coordinate sector agreements
  • Receive briefings of AISNSW activities relevant to ICT leaders, e.g. CEO Perspectives - the future of schooling in Australia
  • Briefing in relation to the cross-sector CIO Forum

Why apply?

  • Rich networking opportunity
  • Keep abreast of new products to the market
  • Discuss topics of relevance to ICT in independent schools
  • Influence sector-wide opportunities, e.g. licensing
  • Connect with vendors to hear about products of relevance to independent schools
  • Connect remotely with the group through Zoom and Teams

How to apply?

Application process begins from October 2019, with confirmation in January 2020. Your Principal's permission should form part of the submission. Further details will be sent to users with an AISNSW profile and role of "IT Manager" selected.

How to contribute?

Any member of the independent school community regardless of membership is welcome to submit items for consideration by the committee in future meetings. To submit agenda items for consideration by the committee, please contact us below:
contact us

2019 Strategic Directions Group Members

Adam Abbate
Queenwood School
Amber Chase
Calrossy Anglican School
Anthony England
Pymble Ladies’ College
David Colville
Mount Sinai
Evan Sanders
Glenaeon Rudolf Steiner School
Gavin Kennedy
Georgina Liberale
Ascham School
Graeme Ewing
Nowra Anglican School
Jason Carthew
Korowal School
John Clear
Marcus Claxton
The Hills Grammer
Mark Sullivan
Matt Esterman
Our Lady of Mercy College


Matthew Mason
Matthew Simpson
Maurice Cummins
Megan Bennett
Thomas Hassall Anglican College
Nenos Youkhanis
St Narsai Assyrian Christian College
Paul Queeney
Trinity Grammar School
Rebecca Wang
Canberra Girls Grammer School
Shane Negen
Dubbo Christian School
Tania Lloyd
Bishop Tyrrell
Wayne Robinson
St Andrews Christian School
Zamil Mohammed
Australian International Acadamy
Zoran Taleski
Emanuel School