AISNSW ICT Strategic Directions Group

The Strategic Directions Group (SDG) is a group representing Independent Schools across NSW in relation to matters of strategic importance in this sector. Members of the group seek to raise matters affecting the independent school community and work collaboratively within and beyond the group to find solutions to medium/long-term ICT issues which can be ranked under four key pillars.

Emerging Technologies

  • Research-based
  • Digital technologies for curriculum
  • Bringing lessons learnt to the whole sector

Enabling ICT Leadership

  • Developing the next 
    generation of ICT leaders
  • Events, mentoring and professional learning
  • ICT leadership resources

Risk, Security & Governance

  • Data security and retention
  • Risk management best practice
  • Guidance on external 
    or self-governance

Member Advantage

  • Procurement resources & policies
  • Agreements with key vendors
  • ICT Advisory Service


The purpose of the ICT Strategic Directions group is to:

  • propose, share and promote emerging technology use in independent schools
  • guide the sector in providing appropriate professional learning for the benefit of independent school ICT staff and leaders
  • support the sector in ICT risk management, data security and governance by providing appropriate resources and guidance
  • engage with the vendor community to provide appropriate technology solutions to the independent sector.


Strategic Directions Group membership is voluntary and determined by a ‘call for volunteers’ process administered by AISNSW.

The Group will consist of a Chair, 10-20 school representatives depending on response to the volunteer email process, the current chair of the AISNSW ICT Management & Leadership Conference, and AISNSW staff including the Head: Technology & Online Learning Solutions.

The group will endeavour to represent all school sizes, locations, beliefs and gender. School representatives will participate for two school years, with half rolling off yearly through a volunteer process conducted in Term 4.

Special Interest Group (SIG)

Members of the SDG contribute to a Special Interest Group (SIG) including:

  • Curriculum and pedagogy
  • Data
  • Device programs and impact
  • Infrastructure management
  • Member advantage program including licensing
  • Professional learning
  • School applications

Examples of recent Strategic Directions Group activites:

  • Sector-wide licensing agreement for Microsoft and Adobe software
  • Presentation by the Office of the eSafety Commissioner 
  • Feedback to the ICT Leadership and Management Conference Committee
  • Feedback in relation to ICT events, e.g. Helpdesk and the Customer Experience
  • Oversight of the Current and Emerging ICT Leaders program
  • Providing AISNSW with feedback on the Member Advantage program and the offers the committee would like to see provided to the sector
  • Selection of the licensing reseller to coordinate sector agreements
  • Receive briefings of AISNSW activities relevant to ICT leaders, e.g. CEO Perspectives - the future of schooling in Australia
  • Briefing in relation to the cross-sector CIO Forum

Why apply?

  • Rich networking opportunity
  • Keep abreast of new products to the market
  • Discuss topics of relevance to ICT in independent schools
  • Influence sector-wide opportunities, e.g. licensing
  • Connect with vendors to hear about products of relevance to independent schools
  • Connect remotely with the group through Zoom and Teams

How to apply?

Application process begins from October 2019, with confirmation in January 2020. Your Principal's permission should form part of the submission. Further details will be sent to users with an AISNSW profile and role of "IT Manager" selected.

How to contribute?

Any member of the independent school community regardless of membership is welcome to submit items for consideration by the committee in future meetings. To submit agenda items for consideration by the committee, please contact us below:
contact us

2021 Strategic Directions Group Members

Maurice Cummins (Chair)
Marcus Claxton (Co-Chair)Hills Grammar School
Giovani Trono (Minutes)
Mark Sullivan (Conference Chair)
Redfield College
Brett Houghton
St Ignatius College, Riverview
Brittany Procter
Central Coast Sports College
Bronwyn Tregenza
Nowra Anglican School
Eu-Gene Harper
Trinity Grammar School
Nkem Ezeanata
Shearwater Steiner School Mullumbimby
Tahir Siddique
Australian Islamic College of Sydney
Gavin Kennedy
Lindisfarne Anglican Grammar School


Megan Bennett
Thomas Hassall Anglican College
Steven Swarts
MLC School, Burwood
David Price
St. Philip's Christian Education Foundation
Michael Gargoura
Saint Patrick's College, Campbelltown
David Massa
Redlands School, Cremorne
Jacky Zhou
St Gabriel's School Castle Hill and St Edmunds college Wahroonga
Ian McDonald
St Columba Anglican School, Port MacQuarie
Joe Haig
Belmont Christian College
Rod Elbourne
Hunter Trade College
Alex Fabris
Alesco Illawarra